Tea Pigs Matcha Green Tea

We should care about our beauty from the outside but also from the within. I have recently been into my fitness and eating healthier. Matcha green tea has become more popular this year and I wanted to see what the big hype was. Matcha green tea origins from Japan, which does not compare to the normal green tea, as Matcha uses the whole leaf which tends to come in a powder form rather than just a tea bag. In fact,One glass of Matcha is the equivalent of 10 glasses of regular green tea in terms on nutritional and antioxidant value. I have been drinking this for about 6 weeks now and therefore i am able to conduct a honest and fair review.

image

Matcha green tea has lots of health benefits:

  • Full of Antioxidants – much more than berries and spinach
  • Helps weight lost – burns calories and helps boost metabolism.
  • Lowers cholesterol and blood sugar levels.
  • Packed full of vitamins, fiber and chlorophyll
  • Relaxes the mind and body
  • Good for detoxing and cleansing
  • Energy booster

image

Purchase

I brought my Matcha from teapigs.co.uk. Tea Pigs have many types of Matcha to choose from but I opted for the Modern Matcha kit! This included, 30g of Matcha powder, electric wisk and a spoon. I also brought the shot glass as this is a quick method for busy mornings! The Modern matcha kit costs £29, however there was a 20% offer with free delivery when I purchased – Bargain!! In 6 weeks I have used this product almost everyday and I still have a bit left. I reckon I can get perhaps 7-8 weeks out of this 30g jar! Therefore a little goes a long way – pretty good value for money in the long run.

image

Method

It is very easy to make. I put ¾ of the spoon provided in to the shot glass, pour a little of cold water then I use the wisk to ensure all the powder is mixed up and then add more water to the top of the shot glass. (DO NOT – pour the water all the way to the top and then wisk as this will go everywhere). When I have more time, I make this into a hot beverage, method is the same as above but I use a mug and hot water.

Taste

If you do not like regular green tea you will not like the taste of this. I am a regular green tea drinker and therefore I like the taste, it is pretty earthy , some find it bitter but I personally do not find this is the case. However, fear not non-green-tea drinkers, you can mix this with juice or smoothies and therefore the taste will be better. Nevertheless, a shot is quick and easy to drink and it will be over in a second if you really hate it – but hey – think of all the health benefits gained from it.

image

My Conclusion

I LOVE this stuff! I cant comment on all the health claims, but for the detox/ weight loss factor it is working for me. I am not sure how to say this but this tea “cleanses” my stomach and makes me go “regularly” therefore helping me naturally few pounds lighter and detoxed. I also suffer from severe bloatedness and even though I still get bloated, it is not anything as bad as it used to be. But I am pretty sure all my benefits are due to a combination of now working out and the Matcha! Therefore I highly recommend this.

PS – there are lots of other makes of Matcha Green Tea. I have seen other good quality Matcha for a lower price, therefore I will be trying these out next. I have just purchased the clearspring – Japanese Oraganic Matcha Green Tea Powder (Ceremonial Grade). If any one has tried this, please let me know how you find it 🙂 !

Leave a Reply

