Make Up Forever Ultra HD Foundation

Hey guys, I know I have been awful with keeping up to date with my blog! I have been crazy busy with several celebrations over the last few months. But I have a few beauty products to share over the next few weeks.

image

Today I will review the Make Up Forever Ultra HD Foundation in the shade Y385. If anyone is familiar with Make Up Forever foundations, they have actually discarded their original HD line and replaced it with this Ultra HD one. I did use to use the original foundation in the shade 128. This shade was not a perfect shade, it needed more yellow undertones, but it was the nearest I could find to my skin tone at the time. I had to add Make Up Forever yellow colour corrector to this to make it a perfect shade. ( Correctors are amazing in making the perfect shade – I will review this product soon guys!). However with the new Ultra HD line much more colours are released, some are the same colours as the original and some are brand new shades, making that a whopping 40 shades in total. They have really thought hard about everyone’s skin type, as they have categorised the shades in groups – light, medium, tan and dark and then what undertone you are – red or yellow. It can be a little confusing so ask a beauty advisor to colour match you when purchasing this foundation.

I got colour matched to shade Y385 – Olive Beige (this is found in the medium group range), which is a new shade. This was the best match for me out of all the shades. For reference this shade is near to Mac’s NC40-42. It has strong yellow undertones, I found it look slightly too yellow on my skin, I needed to apply powder on top to calm down the ‘yellowness’. I had brought this last summer and it worked well with my tanned skin, unfortunately a little too dark for winter months.

wp-1455979002902.jpg

Left: blended Right: swatch

The formula is silky, smooth , a bit more runny compared to the original. It is definitely very hydrating, my skin does not feel dry and does not cling on to dry patches. Therefore I would highly recommend this foundation more so for dry- normal skin girls rather than very oily. I have dry-combination skin and this works fine for me. I would say this foundation is medium coverage and is very natural looking.

20160217_185743.jpginstasize_1122223704.jpg

It doesn’t look overly yellow in my photos due to the poor lighting, but in reality it is.

What are your thoughts on the new Make Up Forever Ultra HD Foundation? Do you prefer it over the original?

Thank you for reading

Bhavi x o x o

6 thoughts on “Make Up Forever Ultra HD Foundation

Leave a Reply

