Maybelline Eyestudio Lasting Drama Gel Eyeliner 24H Review

IMG_7810.JPG

Hi guys! I have been very intrigued to try out a gel eyeliner as they are very much in trend atm and have heard some good things about them. Today, I will be reviewing the Maybelline Eyestudio Lasting Drama Gel Eyeliner 24H – bit of a mouthful I know! I have purchased the shade 01 Black. I picked this up from Superdrug for £7.99

IMG_7583                        IMG_7586

This eye liner comes in a beautiful small frosted round tub, you may think that there is such a small amount provided, but I can imagine this lasting a long time as you just need to use a little! Maybelline has also provided a brush, I was not expecting a lot from this brush, but boy was I wrong! This brush is a perfect size,tapered, soft and after a few washes no bristles have shed.

 IMG_7585

Maybelline claims this is a very long lasting eye liner 24 hours in fact, I do not wear my make up for 24 hours therefore can not comment to that claim, nevertheless I would say it is very long lasting as I have worn this product for 10 hours and it looks exactly the same as when I first applied it. On me I find this product once dried, it is matt, smudge and transfer proof! I have also worn this in heavy rain over the weekend and 99% stayed on! Another big plus, this gel eye liner does not give me panda eyes!

IMG_7587

The formula is a  smooth gel like texture, it is very creamy and glides on very well. It does dry up pretty quick, I find it dries quicker on my top lid rather than my waterline. The gel eye liner also allows me to create either a natural or dramatic look. What I love most about this product is that the colour is amazing, it is very pigmented, the colour is very intense in just one swipe!

IMG_7836

As you can see, this gel eye liner can be used on the top lid or on the waterline and both of course. I tend to find it takes me a little longer to apply compared to liquid or pencil eye liner. I also find it a little difficult when creating a wing look.  However the end results are much better as this creates a more dramatic look and is much more long lasting. Hopefully with some more practise I can achieve the perfect look!

IMG_7791.JPG

IMG_7679.JPG

 Would I purchase this product again? Deffinialty yes! I may not wear this product if I am in a rush but whenever I have that extra couple minutes and nights out I would reach for this. I am very happy with the end results. I am now reaching much more over for this gel eyeliner rather than my pencils and liquid eyeliners.

 IMG_7617

What do you think of gel eye liners? have you tried any? Do you think they are better or worse compared to liquid eye liners? Love to hear your thoughts!

Thank you for reading

Bhavi xoxo

39 thoughts on “Maybelline Eyestudio Lasting Drama Gel Eyeliner 24H Review

  1. I personally prefer liquid liners but I think that’s because the gel liner brushes I’ve used weren’t so good. Love your lashes by the way!

    • Thank you for commenting. I had a look at your blog and commented on your gel liner post. You should give this maybelline one a try because 1) the colour looks darker than the rimmel one but prehaps not as dark as the inglot one. 2) on me it is smudge proof all day!! I was also in two minds to buy the loreal gel eye liner also but from reviews I read maybelline won it slightly over for me. Plus a little cheaper too!!

  2. I actually find it quicker to apply because with just one coat it’s already dark black when I end up using a couple of coats of other liners… But welcome to the gel liner club!

  3. Thankyou for your comment on my blog post, I came over straight away to check yours out and have followed you. Great content! Wow love the effect this has! I often find myself using liquid especially with the great range of ‘pen’ style liners compared to wands/pots that are out now, but I always keep a gel handy. I am going to try this product and see how I like it. The brush looks decent – what a nifty product! xo

    • Aww that’s okay. Your blog is a enjoy to read. Yeah I guess there is more choice with liquid eyeliner regarding the variety of pen tips. But like you said gel comes in handy with the long lasting side. Thank you for your comment 🙂 x

  4. I don’t like the liquid liners, I think it’s easier to work with a gel one. I use the gel eyeliner from ELF, it’s good but I want to give a try to the Maybelline one too !

  5. Love this liner. It’s a rare occasion when I don’t line my eyes (usually liquid top lashes, pencil on the bottom lashes) I bought a year or so again when it first came out and loved it straight away. The only thing is I found it dried out a little when I didn’t use it for a while, mainly because I switch products so often, it was almost like the top of it formed a dry layer? In terms of application it’s my favourite. Will be buying again.. Soon 🙂

  6. This is awesome!:) I have one too, but mine’s in a slightly different packaging
    Though I have to be honest, I don’t like it very much as it smears on me.. Though I have to take the climate and humidity in my country into consideration, as well as how much I could perspire on a really hot day. If you have tips on making it stop smearing, I would greatly appreciate it!:)
    I’m hoping to get the Inglot AMC Gel Liner though 🙂

    • Ahhh really. That’s a shame. I’m afraid its probably the hot climate that makes it smeer. In the uk it is usually cold here haha!! I have good things about the inglot gel liner hopefully that will work better for you xx

  7. Pingback: Maybelline Colour Show Nail Varnish | beautypuzzled

  8. I bought this eyeliner a while ago and I love it! I use it on my waterline and it makes such a dramatic difference compared to pencil liners because it is so much darker and a lot longer lasting. I feel like I need to practise applying eyeliner to my upper lids and creating wings as I am absolutely awful, even when I use a liquid liner! x

  9. Thanks for visiting my site! Great inside about the brush. . I have been debating on getting the gel liner or not. After reading your post I did go get it. Thanks again and hope you come check me out again at flashyguru.wordpress.com ~ xoxo

  10. Pingback: This Or That Beauty Tag | beautypuzzled

  11. I have this and love it! It definitely is smudge proof which is what I love about it. I’ve never tried it in my waterline though as I generally stick to kohl for that, but it looks great in your waterline in the picture, really intense colour. How is it for lasting in the waterline throughout the day? x

    • Thank you, yes it very long lasting, I have worn this on my waterline for a good 10 hours before and no smudging. It also looked exactly the same since first application. Have an experiment and try it on your water line too!! I use to use kohl previously to this and gel liner is a lot more dramatic. I still use my kohl for days I want my look to be more natural. Hope this helps xx

  12. Pingback: My Saturday Night Make Up Look | beautypuzzled

Leave a Reply

