Rimmel Moisture Renew Lipstick Review in Shade Mayfair Red Lady + Swatches.

20140806-135038-49838291.jpgI must admit a red lipstick is a timeless colour, however it is a colour I do not wear often; if I did it would have to be a good occasion. I recently had a wedding to attend and wanted a new red lipstick to match my saree. I had tried Mac’s Ruby Woo, which is loved by many however I was not keen on this lipstick because I found it very drying even when I had prepped my lips before hand. Therefore I decided to then try a drug store lipstick, as I did not want to spend a lot of money for a colour I would not wear often.

 20140806-135039-49839749.jpg

I stumbled upon Rimmel Moisture Renew Lipstick Review in Shade 510 – Mayfair Red Lady. I purchased this at Superdrug for £6.49. I was very drawn to the name of this lipstick as it oozes elegance and sophistication. The packing of this product is nothing fancy and pretty standard with it being a plastic purple lid.

 20140806-121954-44394297.jpg

The shade of this lipstick is a bright vibrant red that will get you standing out from the crowed. It has a slight orange undertone therefore this shade probably be more suited for olive/brown skin tones. Surprisingly, it is very pigmented for a moisturising lipstick .This lipstick also has a sheen/glossy look; if you prefer matt lipsticks then this is not for you.

 20140806-150121-54081015.jpg

This lipstick contains vitamins A, C and E and this is what gives the moisture. It is a very hydrating lipstick and applies effortlessly. However, the downfall to this lipstick is that it may be ‘too hydrating’; this lipstick tends to bleed easily which is very disappointing especially as I wanted to wear it for a wedding where there would be plenty of eating and drinking. However, I have managed to over come this issue by using Sally Hansen Invisible Lip Liner underneath (I will be reviewing this product very soon – truly is amazing). My lipstick did not bleed all day, it did fade a little after eating but I did not mind topping up my lipstick after food.

 20140806-135038-49838499.jpg

Overall verdict: this is a good lipstick I will rate it 3.5 stars as I love the colour but the longevity of this lipstick is not great. If worn with a lip liner you will gain better results, then I will give it 4 stars (I would definitely wear this again with the lip liner!) but basing it on the lipstick alone it is far too moisturising to stay on the lips.

I am still searching for the perfect red lipstick that is neither to drying nor overly moisturising. If any one has any drug store recommendations that will be great 🙂

PS- you probably noticed the Aladdin and Jasmine dolls at the back – that’s because I am a massive Disney Aladdin fan – you are never too old for Disney!! hehe 🙂

Thank you for reading

Bhavi xoxo

30 thoughts on “Rimmel Moisture Renew Lipstick Review in Shade Mayfair Red Lady + Swatches.

    • Aww thank you maja. Haha yes you should definitely try to attend an Indian wedding. It is very different and beautiful 😊 plus the reception parties are very crazy lol! X

  1. It’s a very lovely shade indeed! I checked out your blog as promised, and you found yourself a new follower here… 🙂

  2. Pingback: Sally Hansen Invisible Lip Liner Review | beautypuzzled

  3. This lipstick looks beautiful on you! Especially with the gold in your outfit and bindi, it goes very nicely. Loved Aladdin and Jasmine in the background too! Did you get them from the Disney store? I saw Prince Philip in there the other day and was quite tempted 🙂 xx

    • Thank you so much. Ha ha yes I did get them from the Disney store. I love that shop. Oo prince Philip !! You going to purchase him? Thank you for stoping by and following xxx

      • Me too! It’s a great shop haha. I can’t wait until my friends and relatives start having kids so I have even more excuses to go in there and buy stuff. I might ask for Phillip for my birthday, I can’t justify him at the moment, unfortunately! xx

      • Lucky you! My little sister is 21, although she’d love an Aladdin like yours. I’m 22 and the oldest cousin in the family, but the youngest is 11, so a little bit old for Disney! One day I’ll be in there every weekend haha xx

  4. Seriously, you look stunning! I have a similar color skin tone and get son nervous to wear red lipstick, I think I’ll give it a shot sometime. Thanks for a great post.

  5. Heya! Just followed your comment to here, and I do like your blog a lot! You look incredibly gorgeous in this pic (don’t get me wrong, you look beautiful in your other pics too, this one just stood out 😉 ), and I love the little alladin and jasmine ‘sitting on you shoulder’ 😀 Never too old for disney indeed 😉

    • Awwww thank you so much 🙂 really nice of you. Yeah I make that extra effort when attending a wedding hehe!! And yes I agree – never too old for Disney. Thank you for checking out my blog, loving yours also 🙂 xx

Leave a Reply

