Sigma F88 – Flat Angled Kabuki Brush Review

 

20140804-124143-45703726.jpg

There are tons and tons of brushes out there for each part of your face to natural hair or synthetic hair bristles. This can make it very daunting to figure out what type of brush you need. A year ago, I was looking for a new foundation brush; the Sigma F80 was a very popular choice from bloggers however I felt this round dense brush would not reach under my eyes and small areas very well. I then opted for the Real Techniques Stippling brush; this was my favourite brush up until I purchased the Sigma F88 Flat Angled Kabuki Brush. There is not a store near me that sells this brush; therefore I decided to purchase this from Amazon for £17.95, a little pricer compared to my other brushes but in my opinion its totally worth it!

20140804-124141-45701679.jpg

As you can see this brush is very similar to the F80. The major difference is that this brush is angled which makes it easier to reach under the eye area and small areas. Making application so much easier with just one brush!

20140804-124143-45703189.jpg

The packaging of this brush is very sturdy and the handle is just the right length not too long or too short. It comes with a plastic case to protect the bristles.The bristles are synthetic hair which means it is animal cruelty free! I have been using this brush for a few weeks now and after a few washes not even one hair have shed! The fact that it states the brush model on the handle is a great reminder to what brush you are using.

R to L: RT Stippling Brush, RT Buffing Brush, Sigma F88

This brush is very dense with a flat kabuki top, when applied with liquid foundation it will create a full coverage finish compared to using another type of brush. In comparison to the Real Techniques stippling brush and buffing brush you can see how much denser the F88 is.

20140804-124142-45702769.jpg

R to L: RT Stippling Brush, RT Buffing Brush, Sigma F88

Why I favour the Sigma F88 brush over Real Techniques?

  • Unlike the other brushes the F88 has a dense flat top, and this is what prevents foundation streaks.
  • This brush worked better for me than the real techniques buffing brush because the buffing brush did not work well on my eczema. The F88 allows me to stipple or glide on dry patches rather than buff into them.
  • Even though I love my real techniques stippling brush, I still favour the F88 more because it covers more of my blemishes as it gives me more coverage. However I do use my stippling brush on days I want a light coverage look.
  • Can be suitable for all skin types.
  • The F88 handle length is just right for accuracy.
  • The F88 has an angled brush for extra precision for under the eyes and corners.

I usually apply a bit of foundation on to my face and then I would stipple and buff it into my skin. My foundation does not seem to be sinking into the bristles therefore I am not wasting any product.

20140804-124142-45702056.jpg

Overall verdict: This brush is incredibly soft and feels lovely on my skin, I have very sensitive skin and this brush did not irritate my skin. I have combination skin; usually some brushes can make my dry patches flake but this not happen with the Sigma F88. The end results are beautiful as this brush helps creates a medium/full coverage yet natural and flawless with out no streaks.

Overall Look

20140804-142843-52123154.jpg

20140804-142843-52123722.jpg

Products used:

  • Sigma F88 Brush
  • Revlon Colourstay Foundation – Shade Natural Tan
  • Loreal True Match Powder – Shade W7
  • B. Glowing Shimmer Block – Shade 161 Just Peachy
  • B. Cream Eyeshadow – Shade 057 Copper.
  • Rimmel Exaggerate Liquid Eye Liner – Black
  • Loreal Volume Million Lashes So Couture – Black
  • Loreal Glam Shine Lip Crayon – Shade 912 Sin For Peach
  • Necklace and top from Primark – click here for review
  • Pencil skirt and ring from Forever 21

Have you tried the F88 or any other Sigma brushes??

Thank you for reading

Bhavi xoxo

12 thoughts on “Sigma F88 – Flat Angled Kabuki Brush Review

  1. Wow I’m so going to buy this brush. I bought the mac stippling brush a while back to buff and apply my foundation with. Let’s just say I’m not best pleased with it!!! Look out for my review on it but stay well away. Will let you know what I think of the brush xx

    • Aww no sorry about your mac stippling brush!! I find this brush better that a stippling brush for a more coverage and flawless look!! Yes, please let me know how u get on with this brush, link me in your post if you do a review on it 🙂 thanks for stopping by xx

  2. Hey girl! I’ve been dying to get my hands in some of the sigma brushes too! Thanks for the review I’m gonne check this brush out! Xxx

  3. Pingback: This Or That Beauty Tag | beautypuzzled

  4. Pingback: My Saturday Night Make Up Look | beautypuzzled

  5. Pingback: Beauty Blender Dupe | beautypuzzled

  6. Pingback: Ex1 Invisiwear Liquid Foundation | beautypuzzled

Leave a Reply

