L’oreal True Match Foundation Review

 

20140717-162843-59323927.jpg

Hey everyone, I hope you’re all enjoying this BEAUTIFUL hot weather. As us ladies know, when it becomes hot, we get a tan which is great but we also encounter the dilemma of our foundation no longer matching our new tanned skin! This was myself a few weeks ago after coming back from Morocco I definitely needed a new foundation. I usually use Revlon Colour Stay in shade natural tan, but this looking slightly grey on my skin at the moment. I started my hunt with high end brands such as Mac, and Estee Lauder. I picked up studio fix fluid samples from Mac in shades NC40,41 and 42. Shades 40 and 42 looked way to orange on my skin, shade 41 was a good match, however I could not handle the paint smell and it gave me a headache. Next, Estee Lauder double wear, I have trailed and error 4 shades of this foundation yet they are either too dark, light or not the right undertones. Apart from the colour I absolutely love this foundation, the coverage and staying power is fantastic but unfortunately it’s a no no for a colour match.

20140717-162846-59326586.jpg

After this I looked at high street brands, I noticed L’oreal True Match foundation has a huge variety of colours; 22 to be precise, these range from pale, tanned to dark shades. Surely I would find my colour match?! Guess what, I did!! :D. Purchased this from Superdrug for only £9.99.

Loreal claims

True Match super-blendable foundation perfectly matches the colour and texture of your skin. Now available in 22 skin-true shades across warm, neutral and cool, it matches more than any other.** 

Oil free and non-comedogenic. SPF 17.

97%* of UK skin tones matched. A foundation for the nation.”

 What it claims on the bottle:

  • Super blendable
  • Matches skin colour and texture
  • SPF 17
  • In 2 weeks skin will look healthier and more even due to the micro minerals in the product.

I think many people would find their colour match here as they split there foundations in regards to under tones,which are cool, neutral and warm. From light, medium to dark shades. Loreal has an online app where you can find your colour match. Please click here to view this.

20140717-162844-59324390.jpg

I am shade N6 – Honey. Some people may claim I would be more of a warm undertone, but I find these appear too dark and orangey on my face. Maybe that’s why I haven’t found my perfect shade as most brands have either cool or warm shades. However L’oreal has a neutral shade with an equal balance of cool and warm shades in the formula. It matches perfectly for my tanned summer skin!

One pump of foundation

One pump of foundation

 

Foundation blended in

Foundation blended in

This foundation I would say is a medium coverage. It is a thin formula which makes it easy to buff and blend and feels very light on the skin. It is also super blendable and matches my skin magically. I apply this foundation with my Real Techniques Stippling Brush, It definitely gives of a natural look, yet covers up my blemishes. After primer and powder it finishes of as a semi-matt look, I much prefer this than complete matt as I love the glowing dewy look for summer. If you prefer an extra dewy look than skip the powder part. In regards of L’oreal stating it can improve your skin quality; well I did not notice any difference!

20140717-175634-64594576.jpg

The longevity of this foundation is not the best after a few hours I do notice a little fading and the T-zone is a little shiny, nothing too bad. Funny enough I do not mind this for the summer as it gives of a dewier look. I have combination skin so this foundation is more manageable when it comes to longevity, however someone with really oily skin then this foundation may not work for you. For everyday wear this foundation works well, however if I was going for a night out/wedding/all day event I would much prefer my Revlon Colourstay Foundation. Please click here for this review.

20140717-162844-59324760.jpg     20140717-162845-59325171.jpg

I absolutely love the packaging for this, it is a great size for travelling and the pump makes it so much easier to use and is very hygienic.

Overal verdict:

Pros

  • Great if you are looking for colour to match your skin tone as there is a huge variety of shades.
  • SPF 17
  • Dewy summer look
  • Lightweight
  • Does not irritate my skin
  • Does not break me out
  • Blendable
  • Skin like foundation
  • Affordable
  • Hygienic pump bottle
  • Oil free and non comedogenic.

Cons

  • Longevity  – does not last all day
  • Would not suit very oily skins.
  • No signs of L’oreal claims of improving skin quality.

This is my go to foundation for the summer to match my skin tone. However in the winter I much prefer a more matt finish and will be returning to my Revlon Colourstay when my tan fades out. So far I have not found a foundation to beat my Revlon Colourstay. The closest I have found as mentioned above is Estee Lauder Double Wear. If anyone has similar skin colour to me or for reference wears Revlon colour stay in Natural Tan or Loreal True Match in N6 and has found a shade to match with Estee Lauder Double Wear then please let me know 😀

Thank you for reading

Bhavi xoxo

 

 

 

20 thoughts on “L’oreal True Match Foundation Review

  1. I’ve been considering buying this, but as you’ve said it’s not suitable for oily skin I’ll be staying well away! Thanks 🙂 It’s always so difficult finding foundations that match x

  2. Love this foundation 🙂 my skins on the oily side but I don’t struggle too much with this if I set it with powder and sometimes a setting spray especially in the summer. Great review 🙂

    • Thank you, yes I agree of you prime and set well it can work well. Which setting spray do you use? I want to get one. ESP as it is so hot in England ATM !!

      • I use urban decay all nighter and it works really well! They do one for dry skin and one for oily skin as well, this one is aimed at keeping everything in place for the duration and it works 🙂 I know it’s so warm in the uk I can’t get used to the lack of rain lol xo

    • Aww that’s such a shame that it doesn’t work for you. But I do agree it isn’t the best for oily skin. Infact this week as it has been extremely hot in London, my skin has become oily at times and this foundation hasn’t been at it’s best compared to cooler days.

  3. Your reviews are great. I’m going to buy this and see how it goes. I had this problem two weeks ago when I developed a tan and now am walking around with two toned skin and make up. Your reviews are set out brilliantly. I’ve learnt some tips for future reviews xx

    • Awww thank you very much. Comments like this really makes my day, it’s a great feeling when you know you can help others 🙂 I think the true match would be great in helping you find a colour for your tan, as there is a wide variety of colours!! Hope it works for you. Thank you again for the nice words xx

  4. I use this product and I love it. I find it gives even coverage your right it doesn’t make you look ‘orangey’. As it doesn’t last the whole day I tend to use my Estee Lauder Double Wear Concealer over the top on certain area’s of my face like under my eyes. Great blog 🙂

  5. I agree. I normally use only the powder unless I’m going out for a party and then go a little heavy with the foundation and powder. Have you tried the one by M.A.C? I use the medium dark, its perfect, almost as if I did not put anything. Also, do follow our blog and let us know your thoughts. http://www.divaly.net

    • I have not tried the one from mac. I have tried the studio fix foundation and hated the smell and formula. Never gone back again for anything lol!! Sure, your blog looks amazing!! X

      • Cool beans, will let you know the ones I use. You’re skin clear, maybe you could give it a try next time 🙂 xx

  6. hey this is a great post helped me a little – i have hyperpigmentation so my face is nc44-nc455 in mac pro longwear rest of my body is fair yellow – which shade would you think would match to nc44-45 color range, im way too shy to go to the counter *hides face*

    i tried findation website and it says n6 honey which cant be right as your face is fairer than mine 😦 any ideas? x

    • Hey thank you hun. I would think you may be a w7 as W is the warm range with more significant yellow. But i really would recommend going to counter if you can. Be better judge ment 🙂 x

  7. How nuts, I was just googling the true match foundation to see swatches ect and I came across your blog. I just brought true match today in Honey N6 and Revlon colour stay in Natural Tan! Great to see what the foundation will look like. It’s the worst thinking I’ve found the perfect match and it’s just a deep brown/orange in natural light. Looking forward to trying these out now. Thanks. 🙂

Leave a Reply

