Smashbox Photo Finish Foundation Primer

Newham-20130727-00276

As the weather is really heating up this summer, it has left my skin to be more oily than usual. I have never used a primer before as I have not needed one; however having a shiny face is not very appealing! I have previously heard other bloggers praise about the ‘Smashbox Photo Finish Foundation Primer’ and wanted to give this a go.

I was happy to had found out that smashbox is available from Boots. There were sooo many different types’ of smashbox primers to choose out of from depending on your skin type. However the sales assistant was very friendly and stated the Smashbox Photo Finish Foundation Primer was the most popular primer and should keep my oily skin at bay. This had cost me £25, please click here to purchase.

Newham-20130727-00277

I like the packaging of this product as it is hygienic due to being a squeezy bottle and that the bottle is see through as this really helps to know how much product is remaining. The primer is oil free and contains vitamins A & E, grape seed extract and green tea, having any sort of skin benefits added to a product is always a plus!

 Newham-20130727-00285

The primer is a clear coloured gel with not much sent at all. The texture of the primer is very silky and feels like velvet on my skin! It feels beautiful. Smashbox states that this primer can “increase the longevity of the foundation while reducing the appearance of fine lines and pores”. I can not comment on how well it works on fine lines as I do not have any. However this primer does make my foundation last longer and is a great canvas for my foundation as it gives it a more semi – matt application. Nevertheless this primer does not make my foundation last a huge amount more than without it and I also find my skin becomes oily again after a little while. To resolve this problem I usually add powder on top and this lasts much longer.

I would say this primer does a good job in controlling the shine and the longevity of my foundation, but not a great job and I am interested to see if there is better out there on the market. Due to these reasons I don’t think I would re- purchase this product again as it is expensive and I will probably invests in a high street primer next time.

Bhavini xox

5 thoughts on “Smashbox Photo Finish Foundation Primer

    • Well this primer is £24, and do not think it is worth its money as it is not amazing…its okay, and does a decent job,i personally would not spend any more than i have already have.

  1. I absolutely love this primer! Smashbox was one of the very first primers I’ve ever tried. It was definitely a splurge, but well worth it. I’ve tried many more brands out there, but Smashbox is one I will always repurchase (when splurging is long overdue, ha ha!)

    • Haha yes I do find it applys well. However I still don’t know how amazing this product is as I don’t have oily skin and a little powder does the job for me. Mayb in the summer I can use it more. Thank u for viewing my blog x

  2. Pingback: My Saturday Night Make Up Look | beautypuzzled

Leave a Reply

