Hair Oils

P1010784

Every one wants lovely lush healthy shiny hair. A growing product on the current market that claims to achieve this are hair oils, natural oils that provide nutrients. There are tons of oils to choose from. Argon oil seems to be the biggest craze used by many celebrities, however Argon oil is incredibly expensive and there are way too many imitates that do not contain much of the pure source. For this reason I have not yet purchased Argon oil. However over the years I have been using more affordable oils some passed on from my grand mother. Many people complement on the length of my hair and how I keep it healthy, I think a lot of it is due to using hair oils.  Today, I will be discussing which oils I use and how to apply them.

Extra Virgin olive oil

P1010788

Extra virgin olive oil is very thick in texture and this makes it rich enough to nourish and condition your hair, it is also great with replenishing hair shaft. Extra virgin olive oil also helps to condition your scalp and help prevent scalp problems such as dandruff and dry skin as it contains antioxidants such as vitamin E and vitamin A. Therefore this oil helps to make your scalp feeling soft and your hair de-frizzed.

Castor oil

P1010787

Castor oil is extracted from the seeds of a caster been plant. It is extremely thick and sticky in texture even more so than extra virgin olive oil. It is very pale in colour and almost has no scent or taste. Castor oil is excellent for hair growth and people with thinning hair issues tend to use this. The main ingredient found in castor oil is Ricinoleic acid; this is what gets rid of bacterial infections that can cause hair loss. It is also said that castor oil and can prevent the early signs of greying, if you was too use this oil regularly the strands of your hair will become darker. I don’t know how much truth there is to this claim but my grandmother has been using this oil for years and I can see the results as she still has long hair and has very little grey! It is also great for creating nourished and healthy hair.

Sweet Almond Oil.

P1010786

Sweet almond oil is thinner in texture compared to the other oils I have mentioned in this blog. It is a pale yellow colour and is extracted from almond kernels. However, it has high levels of Vitamin E and D  and it also contains calcium and magnesium. It leaves your hair shiny and soft.

How to use these oils.

  • 2 teaspoons of Castor oil.
  • 1 teaspoon of Virgin olive oil.
  • 1 teaspoon Sweet almond oil.
  • Mix all in a heat proof bowl and then place in the microwave for about 20 seconds. (DO NOT BOIL – it needs to be warm which allows all the nutrients to be released into your hair).
  • Massage into scalp for a few minutes as this helps to penetrate your hair cuticles and this increases hair growth.
  • Then use the rest of the oil all over your hair down to the ends.
  • Leave on your hair for a minimum of 4 hours, I usually try to leave it on for 6 hours (longer the better) and then wash off with shampoo and conditioner.

I usually apply this hair regime once a week. I have noticed a difference in my hair growth as I had cut my hair a few months ago and there is significant difference! As well as growth, my hair is softer, shiner and healthier. Regards to hair loss I have only notice a slight difference but hopefully within time this will also be a bigger difference.

Coconut oil

P1010785

I absolutely love Coconut oil. I have been using this oil for years and it has been passed down from my great grandmother.  Coconut oil is derived from coconuts, the colour is white and the texture is like a very thick paste. Please do not purchase if it looks like typical runny oil as that is likely to be un-natural. Because it comes in a thick paste form this is why I use this oil alone and do not mix it with nothing else. I usually just put the whole bottle in the microwave for a few seconds where the thick coconut paste will melt down to an oil form, pour into my palms and rub into my scalp and hair. Coconut oil contains lauric acid, a fatty acid that protects and prevents hair breakage, creating less split ends. I have definitely notice this, as after all the heat and chemicals I use in my hair I am very surprise I have barely any split ends. Coconut oil is a good all rounder as it nourishes and penetrates the scalp increasing hair growth, prevents scalp issues such as dandruff and lice, prevents split ends and creates  shiny, glossy, healthy hair.

I am very happy with the regime I use for my hair; they are very cheap and very accessible. Most the oils I have mentioned you can find in most standard supermarkets. I purchased the Extra Virgin Olive oil in Tesco and the Coconut oil is found in the Asian /continental isle in Tesco. Almond oil and Caster oil I purchased from an Asian supermarket. These oils cost around £2 each! Yes, bargain 😀  ! This combination of hair oils have worked for me, if you are looking for hair growth, dandruff free and shiny healthy hair then I would recommend you trying these out as there is no harm trying cheap natural products. Just make sure you do purchase natural sources and be careful if you have any nut allergies.

Just for some evidence of using the hair oils regularly, you can see in the picture below my hair had grew pretty long!

539790_10150921579057651_2115132589_n

Bhavini xox

22 thoughts on “Hair Oils

  1. I have castor oil and coconut oil at home. I must say I rather like coconut oil because of the amazing smell, but also because castor oil is such a pain to rinse off! Coconut oil FTW 😀

  2. The Extra virgin olive oil is a very good product, I normally have dandruff if I leave my hair unattended to for too long but with the virgin olive oil have been able overcome the itching and irritating scalp.

  3. Hi! I love coconut oil too. XD Anyway, regarding your post: “Coconut oil is derived from coconuts, the colour is white and the texture is like a very thick paste. Please do not purchase if it looks like typical runny oil as that is likely to be un-natural,”

    Please note that real coconut oil is colorless or clear. Its appearance change due to a change in temperature: It appears ‘pasty’ and white when it is cold, but at room temperature or when it is warm, it goes back to being colorless and runny. Actually if you’ll notice, all oils are liquid in form (runny) and when you put them in a very cold place it will turn ‘pasty.’ Coconuts are greatly produced in our place and I did some research about it in the past. Coconut oil especially virgin coconut oil has a lot of benefits. You’ll be amazed 😉

Leave a Reply

